Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background

 

Editions Vizavi welcome you to their official website.

Our publishing house insists on promoting the multicultural richness of Mauritius by publishing the works of local artists and creators. We offer a wide range of books on many topics (History, the local and tasty cuisine, children’s literature, etc.)

Mauritius, a model of tolerance

One of the most important aspects of  Mauritius is undoubtedly its cultural diversity and tolerance. Living together peacefully: this is an important concept that Mauritian children must understand. In this sense, Editions Vizavi offer to our young readers the educational book Les religions à l’île Maurice written by Fabienne Jonca and illustrated by Hélène Moreau. Page after page are described the nine most important religions in Mauritius, promoting a better interreligious dialogue.

 

Know the history of Mauritius like the back of your hand

In 2017, look into the history of the Indian Ocean as well as that of Mauritius with Voyage au gré des cartes – A Journey through old maps. Follow the pencil strokes of the most well-known cartographers throughout the centuries and admire the evolution of an emerging island with the texts of Pipo Lenoir. These maps and plans are sometimes adorned with somptuous cartouches and practically encourage us to time travel and rediscover our past.

In 2016, Editions VIZAVI worked towards the preservation of the Sino-Mauritian heritage with CHINATOWN in the heart of Mauritius. Between research and interesting encounters, the making of this book took one year and a half. By leafing through this book, you will discover the amazing journey of this community as well as its impact on Mauritius – past, present and future. You will also be able to learn about their beliefs, their rites and their traditions.

With Geneviève Pitot‘s Le Shekel mauricien you will know more about a dark episode of the history of Mauritius: the detention of numerous Jews in Mauritius between 1940 and 1945. While living in Germany, Geneviève Pitot became increasingly aware of the plight of the Jewish community and decided to restranscribe their account of the events as a tribute to them. In this book we learn more about the life of 1600 Jewish people who had fled Central Europe as they were persecuted by the Nazis and reached Palestine, only to be deported to Mauritius by the British authorities. Le Shekel mauricien was first published in English in 1988 and has been available in French since 2014.

 

héros maurice

 

News

 

A Journey through old maps

We invite to sail across the Indian Ocean and discover the history of Mauritius and its surroundings. With a foreword written by Emmanuel Richon, the director of the Blue Penny Museum, and texts by Pipo Lenoir, be ready to embark on a great journey…

Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background

 

Les Éditions Vizavi vous souhaitent la bienvenue sur le site officiel de leur maison d’édition.

Que ce soit à travers les livres d’histoire sur Maurice, les livres de cuisine décrivant de savoureuses recettes mauriciennes ou encore les albums dédiés à la jeunesse, les Éditions Vizavi mettent un point d’honneur à faire connaître la richesse multiculturelle de Maurice en publiant le travail des artistes et créateurs mauriciens.

L’île Maurice, un modèle de tolérance

L’une des plus grandes richesses de la culture mauricienne est sans aucun doute la diversité et la tolérance de sa population. Il est donc primordial que les enfants mauriciens continuent à cultiver le « mieux vivre ensemble » à Maurice.  Dans cette optique les Éditions Vizavi proposent aux plus jeunes le livre pédagogique Les religions à l’île Maurice écrit par Fabienne Jonca et illustré par Hélène Moreau. Au fil des pages, les enfants découvrent les neuf grandes religions présentes à Maurice promouvant ainsi le dialogue interreligieux.

 

Tout sur l’histoire de l’île Maurice

En 2017, penchez-vous sur l’histoire de l’océan Indien et de notre petite île. Au fil des siècles et des coups de crayon de cartographes de renom, suivez l’évolution d’une île en construction, au rythme des textes de Pipo Lenoir. Parfois agrémentées de sublimes cartouches, les cartes et plans présentés dans Voyage au gré des cartes – A Journey through Old Maps vous invitent à voyager dans le temps et à redécouvrir notre histoire.

 

En 2016, les Éditions VIZAVI ont participé à préserver l’histoire des Sino-mauriciens à travers l’album-mémoire CHINATOWN au cœur de l’île Maurice. Après un an et demi de recherche et de belles rencontres, la maison d’édition nous livre le parcours et l’impact de cette communauté sur le Maurice d’hier, d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Nous y découvrirons également leurs croyances, rites et traditions.

Geneviève Pitot, auteure mauricienne, nous fait découvrir ou redécouvrir à travers son ouvrage Le Shekel mauricien le récit bouleversant des détenus juifs à Maurice entre 1940 et 1945. Sa vie en Allemagne l’a sensibilisée au sort tragique de cette communauté juive et l’a amenée à retranscrire leur récit pour leur rendre hommage. Dans son livre, elle relate la vie de ces 1600 juifs originaires d’Europe centrale qui ont fui la persécution nazie et qui, une fois arrivés en Palestine, ont finalement été déportés à Maurice par les autorités britanniques. Edité en anglais en 1988, ce livre historique est disponible en version française depuis 2014.

 

Actualités

Voyage au gré des cartes

Un ouvrage fait de voyage et de découverte. Réelle promenade à travers quatre siècles d’histoire, ce livre grand format préfacé par Emmanuel Richon, le directeur du Blue Penny Museum, est avant […]